About Us

The Rupp debate society is comprised of students from Idaho State University who compete in various types of intercollegiate debate and speech competitions.  The team is open to students who want to participate in competition at all experience levels (from beginner to advanced). Currently, the team is transitioning away from CEDA/NDT and moving toward various other debate and speech competition formats like Worlds/BP and NPDA.  Depending on student interest, there is room for experimentation with different formats such as IEs, BP, etc.  The Rupp Debate Society has a strong record of success.  ISU Students have won hundreds of awards including 3rd place at CEDA Nationals, 2nd speaker at the NDT, and 2nd Speaker at CEDA Nationals.   Sarah Partlow Lefevre is the Director of Debate and Forensics at ISU.  Sarah has won multiple coaching awards including the Galentine Award, the Ziegelmueller Award, and the Val A. Browning Coach of the Year Award.